Charging
EV charging stations, a register you can search
1,065 charging stations mapped in 12 US metro areas, from OpenStreetMap as it stood on 7 September 2026. Search by city, state, operator or connector, or sort by distance from where you are. It says where the hardware is — not whether a bay is free.
The register
The register loads when the page has loaded.
“Near me” asks your browser for a position only when you press it. The position is used in this page to sort the list; it is not sent anywhere and not stored.
A plot of positions, not a street map. A filled dot is a station rated 50 kW or more; a ring is any other. Press a dot to see the station.
© OpenStreetMap contributors · ODbL 1.0 · harvested 7 September 2026
What is in the register
Every object tagged as a charging station in OpenStreetMap inside 12 search boxes, one drawn around each metro area, as the map stood on 7 September 2026: 1,065 stations. OpenStreetMap is made by volunteers, and what each record holds is what a mapper recorded — so the register is uneven, and the numbers below say how uneven.
| Search area | Stations | Rated 50 kW or more | With any power rating | Mapped as open to the public | Access not stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta | 40 | 14 | 14 | 9 | 25 |
| Boston | 60 | 11 | 19 | 37 | 13 |
| Chicago | 136 | 17 | 20 | 19 | 100 |
| Dallas | 96 | 8 | 12 | 46 | 28 |
| Houston | 40 | 11 | 11 | 10 | 27 |
| Los Angeles | 269 | 66 | 86 | 93 | 138 |
| Miami | 90 | 41 | 42 | 55 | 21 |
| Milwaukee | 21 | 8 | 10 | 10 | 9 |
| New York | 129 | 40 | 40 | 29 | 74 |
| Salt Lake City | 67 | 12 | 13 | 32 | 29 |
| San Francisco | 85 | 18 | 32 | 31 | 40 |
| Tampa | 32 | 13 | 13 | 9 | 19 |
| All 12 | 1,065 | 259 | 312 | 380 | 523 |
How to read a station
- Place. A station’s town and state are shown only when its own record gives them — 295 of the 1,065 do. Otherwise the card says which search area it was found in. A search box is not a city limit: the New York box crosses the Hudson, and 18 of its 129 stations give New Jersey as their state.
- Power. “Up to … kW” is the highest rating mapped on any of the station’s sockets. 312 stations carry a rating; 259 of those are rated 50 kW or more, the highest at 500 kW. A station with no rating mapped is not thereby slow — it is unrated.
- Connectors. 534 stations list their sockets. The count beside a connector is the number of that socket mapped at the station.
- Access. Three states, plus silence: 380 are mapped as open to the public, 139 as for customers or permit holders, 23 as private, and 523 say nothing, which Drive shows as “access not stated” rather than guessing.
- Operator. 864 records name one. 95 also carry the station’s identifier in the US Department of Energy’s alternative fuels register, as entered by the mapper.
Limits
The register covers 12 metro areas and nothing between them. It is a snapshot of 7 September 2026, not a live feed: stations opened, closed or re-mapped since then are not reflected. It does not know whether a charger is working, in use or free, what it costs beyond a yes-or-no fee tag, or its opening hours. Distances are straight lines, not driving routes. Check with the operator before relying on a station.
For an electric car’s official efficiency, use the MPG lookup.
Licence
The data is © OpenStreetMap contributors and is made available under the Open Database License 1.0. The copy on this site is a derived database and is offered under the same licence: dr-stations.json.